THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA TRANSPORTATION STEERING COMMITTEE MINUTES

TSC 2-2019 Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Council Chamber Niagara Region Headquarters, Campbell West 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold, ON

Committee: Regional Chair Bradley; Councillors Chiocchio, Fertich

(Committee Vice-Chair), Greenwood, Ip (Committee Chair), Junkin, Redekop; N. Arsenault (Councillor - Niagara-on-the-Lake), D. Cridland (Councillor - Wainfleet), A. Desmarais

(Councillor - Port Colborne), N. Dubanow (Councillor - Fort Erie), A. Jalib (Brock University Students' Union Representative), M.

Mikolic (Councillor - Lincoln), K. Porter (Councillor - St.

Catharines), K. Sentance (Councillor - Thorold)

Absent/Regrets: Councillor Butters; M. Butler (Councillor - Fort Erie), R. Freake

(Councillor - Grimsby), L. Haun (Councillor - Pelham), R. Huckla (Niagara College Student Administrative Council), C. Ioannoni (Councillor - Niagara Falls), H. Janker (Councillor - West

(Councillor - Niagara Falls), H. Jonker (Councillor - West

Lincoln)

Staff: M. Evely, Administrative Assistant to the Regional Clerk, J.

Gilston, Legislative Coordinator, C. Ryall, Director,

Transportation Services, J. Thompson, Transportation Lead,

Strategic Initiatives and Projects

1. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Ip called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

2. DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

3. PRESENTATIONS

3.1 <u>Transportation Master Plan - Bikeways Master Plan Overview and Cycling Map Update</u>

Carolyn Ryall, Director, Transportation Services, provided information respecting Transportation Master Plan – Bikeways Master Plan Overview and Cycling Map Update. Topics of the presentation included:

- Transportation Master Plan (TMP) Strategic Cycling Network Development
- Strategic Cycling Network Conclusions and Integration with the TMP/Official Plan
- Active Transportation Subcommittee Bicycle Map Update
- Feedback on the Current Map
- Determining Who the Users Are
- Primary Users What Do They Need in the Map?
- Areas We Can Improve the Map

A copy of the presentation is attached to these minutes.

4. **DELEGATIONS**

There were no delegations.

5. <u>ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION</u>

There were no items for consideration.

6. CONSENT ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Moved by Councillor Greenwood Seconded by K. Porter

That the following items **BE RECEIVED** for information:

TSC-C 5-2019

Bicycle Metrics on Regional Roads

TSC-C 6-2019

Students On The Move Survey – Response to Councillor Information Request

TSC 1-2019

Transportation Steering Committee Minutes

March 26, 2019

Carried

7. OTHER BUSINESS

7.1 Active Transportation Subcommittee Member Recruitment

Carolyn Ryall, Director, Transportation Services, advised that staff were reviewing applications for the Active Transportation Subcommittee, following the recruitment period for new members in April 2019.

7.2 <u>Accessibility on Regional Transit Buses</u>

Nick Dubanow, Transportation Steering Committee member, advised that the Town of Fort Erie's Accessibility Advisory Committee had concerns respecting the segregation of accessible seating areas on the proposed Regional Transit buses from other seating areas. Carolyn Ryall, Director, Transportation Services, advised she would review this concern with staff.

7.3 <u>Transportation Steering Committee Mandate</u>

Donna Cridland, Transportation Steering Committee member, requested that the Transportation Steering Committee's mandate be revised to include a focus on seniors, specifically reviewing solutions for seniors who have lost their driver's license due to age-related factors. Carolyn Ryall, Director, Transportation Services, advised that she would review the matter with staff and provide information at a future meeting of the Transportation Steering Committee.

8. **NEXT MEETING**

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 25, 2019, at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chambers, Regional Headquarters.

9. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:22 a.m.

Councillor Ip	 Jonathan Gilston	
Committee Chair Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk	Legislative Coordinator	