THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA SMARTER NIAGARA STEERING COMMITTEE MINUTES

SNSC 1-2019 Thursday, August 29, 2019 Committee Room 4 Niagara Region Headquarters 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold ON

Committee:	Councillors Edgar (Committee Chair), Huson, Ugulini; R. DiMatteo, H. Gayler, T. Hore, S. O'Connor (Committee Vice- Chair), B. Slepkov,
Absent/Regrets:	Councillors Bellows, Bradley (Regional Chair), Chiocchio, Foster, Redekop; J. Storm
Staff:	M. Evely, Legislative Coordinator, D. Giles, Director, Community& Long Range Planning, S. Hendrie, Chief Information Officer,M. Trennum, Deputy Regional Clerk

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, called the meeting to order at 4:37 p.m.

2. DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

3. SELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIR

3.1 Call for Nominations for Committee Chair

Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term.

Moved by B. Slepkov Seconded by S. O'Connor

That Councillor Edgar **BE NOMINATED** as Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term.

3.2 Motion to Close Nominations for Committee Chair

Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, called a second and third time for nominations for the position of Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Chair. There being no further nominations it was:

Moved by Councillor Huson Seconded by H. Gayler

That nominations for the position of Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term, **BE CLOSED.**

Carried

3.3 Voting for Committee Chair

There being only one nominee for the position of Committee Chair, Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, announced that Councillor Edgar would be the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Chair for the 2019-2020 term.

4. <u>SELECTION OF COMMITTEE VICE-CHAIR</u>

4.1 Call for Nominations for Committee Vice-Chair

Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term.

Moved by B. Slepkov Seconded by Councillor Huson

That Sandra O'Connor **BE NOMINATED** as Vice-Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term.

4.2 Motion to Close Nominations for Committee Vice-Chair

Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, called a second and third time for nominations for the position of Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Vice-Chair. There being no further nominations it was:

Moved by Councillor Ugulini Seconded by B. Slepkov

That nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 term, **BE CLOSED.**

Carried

4.3 <u>Voting for Committee Vice-Chair</u>

There being only one nominee for the position, Mark Evely, Legislative Coordinator, announced that Sandra O'Connor would be the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Vice-Chair for the 2019-2020 term.

At this point in the meeting, Councillor Edgar assumed the Chair.

5. PRESENTATIONS

5.1 <u>Smart Cities - Overview</u>

Stuart Hendrie, Chief Information Officer, provided information respecting Smart Cities - Overview. Topics of the presentation included:

- What is a Smart City?
- About the Challenge
- Collaborative Application
- Leveraging Data and Technology
- Sense of Belonging
- Strategic Alignment

Committee Information Request(s):

Provide information respecting potential changes to the mandate of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Terms of Reference. Councillor Edgar.

Provide a copy of the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee Terms of Reference. S. O'Connor.

6. <u>DELEGATIONS</u>

There were no delegations.

7. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

There were no items for consideration.

8. CONSENT ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

There were no consent items for information.

9. OTHER BUSINESS

9.1 <u>Annual Development and Smart Growth Summit</u>

Committee members requested information respecting hosting an annual summit focused on development and smart growth.

9.2 <u>Appreciation Letters</u>

Hugh Gayler requested appreciation letters be sent to Glenn Barr, Dale Shipley, and Graham Speck recognizing their years of service on the Smarter Niagara Steering Committee.

9.3 Niagara Community Design Awards Committee

Hugh Gayler requested information respecting the status of the smart growth design award. Doug Giles, Director, Community & Long Range Planning, advised the Committee that the Niagara Community Design Awards are being issued on a bi-annual basis and "smart growth" remains a category.

10. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>

The next meeting will be held at the call of the Chair.

11. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:12 p.m.

Councillor Edgar Committee Chair Mark Evely Legislative Coordinator

Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk