

MEMORANDUM

CL-C 107-2020

Subject: Recommendation for Consideration from the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian Award Committee meeting held November 16, 2020

Date: November 19, 2020

To: Regional Council

From: Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk

In memory of the late Councillor T. Roy Adams, Niagara Region initiated a memorial award in his name to honour a resident of Niagara who exemplifies dedication to community service and volunteerism.

Typically the award is presented to the recipient at the Regional Council meeting held in July. In consideration of the Council Chamber being closed to the public due to COVID-19 concerns, staff held off on having the Committee meet to determine the 2020 recipient in the hopes that circumstances might change which would allow us to have an in-person ceremony. As we approach the end of the year, it is important that we select the 2020 award recipient so that we can start advertising for 2021 nominees.

The evaluation process to select the 2020 award recipient involved circulating the nomination packages and evaluation matrix to Committee members. The nomination packages were compiled and provided to the Committee for review and scoring in accordance with the evaluation-scoring matrix. At its meeting held on November 16, 2020, the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian Award Committee considered the 2020 award nominees and based on the evaluation matrix determined the 2020 award recipient.

Confidential Appendix 1 to Correspondence Item CL-C 107-2020 has been provided to Council under separate confidential cover.

The following motion is required to action the recommendation of the Committee:

That the recommendation contained in Confidential Appendix 1 to Correspondence Item CL-C 107-2020 to confirm the 2020 recipient of the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian of Year Award, **BE APPROVED.**

The award will be presented electronically at the Regional Council meeting being held on December 17, 2020. Council is reminded that the information respecting the award recipient is to be kept confidential until the award is formally presented on December 17, 2020.

Respectfully submitted and signed by

Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk