Minute Item: 6

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA

BY-LAW NO. <>

A BY-LAW TO APPOINT BY-LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS FOR THE PURPOSE OF ENFORCING THE SEWER USE BY-LAW NO. 27-2014 AS AMENDED, AND TO REPEAL BY-LAW 2019-93

WHEREAS subsection 15 (1) of the *Police Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.P.15,* states that a municipal council may appoint persons to enforce the by-laws of the municipality;

WHEREAS subsection 15 (2) of the *Police Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.P. 15,* states that municipal by-law enforcement officers are peace officers for the purpose of enforcing municipal by-laws;

WHEREAS subsection 1 (1)(d) of the *Provincial Offences Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P33*, states that a provincial offences officer means a by-law enforcement officer of any municipality or of any local board of any municipality, while in the discharge of his or her duties.

WHEREAS on February 27, 2014, the Council of the Regional Municipality of Niagara passed By-law No. 27-2014, being a by-law to regulate discharges to the sanitary and storm sewer systems of The Regional Municipality of Niagara;

WHEREAS it is necessary to appoint certain Regional staff as by-law enforcement officers for the purposes of enforcement of By-law No. 27-2014, as may be amended from time to time:

NOW THEREFORE the Council of The Regional Municipality of Niagara enacts as follows:

 That the following persons be hereby appointed as By-law Enforcement Officers for the purposes of enforcing By-law No. 27-2014, as amended, being the Sewer Use Bylaw:

Jason Oatley, Manager, Quality and Compliance (Wastewater)

Dominic Valentini, Environmental Enforcement Officer

Craig Burns, Environmental Enforcement Officer

Ashley Marshall, Environmental Enforcement Officer

Chris Brylinski, Environmental Enforcement Officer

Jasson Villeneuve, Environmental Enforcement Officer

Bill 2021-15 Authorization Reference: PWC 2-2021
Minute Item: 6

2. That By-law No. 2019-93 is hereby repealed.

3. That this by-law shall come into force and effect on the day upon which it is passed.

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA

James Bradley, Regional Chair

Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk

Passed: <date>