Linking Niagara Transit Committee - Terms of Reference

PROJECT BACKGROUND

Municipalities across the Niagara Region have identified the importance of public transit to enhance the economic development of the Region.

Since January 2015, an inter-municipal transit group comprised of the Mayors, Chief Administrative Officers (CAOs) and staff from Niagara Falls, St. Catharines, Welland and the Region of Niagara, in consultation with local area municipalities, have been working together to improve inter-municipal transit services throughout the Region and develop governance options for inter-municipal transit.

In 2016, the working group hired Dillon Consulting to develop potential options for the future delivery of inter-municipal transit services.

The Dillon report (*Niagara Transit Service Delivery and Governance Strategy, 2017*) was completed in early 2017 and the findings were presented to the Councils represented on the working group: St. Catharines, Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake and the Region of Niagara.

The four respective municipal councils recommended that the Dillon report be endorsed and that two groups be created: Inter-Municipal Transit Steering Committee and the Inter-Municipal Transit Working Group.

In 2017, IMTSC members agreed the work of the committee should reflect a broader approach to transit and not simply focus on inter-municipal routes only. To this end, the IMTSC was renamed the Linking Niagara Transit Committee to reflect the broader lens by which transit would be viewed for the work and mandate of the committee and create a more inclusive discussion for all Niagara transit systems.

MEMBERS/COMPOSITION

The Linking Niagara Transit Committee is a politically-appointed Committee comprised of 10 elected representatives as follows:

St. Catharines - 2 representatives
Niagara Falls - 2 representatives
Welland - 2 representatives
Region of Niagara - 4 representatives

The Members of this Committee shall be political appointments from the respective municipal Councils, which may include the mayors from St. Catharines, Niagara Falls and Welland should they choose to sit as one of the two local representatives. The four representatives from the Region of Niagara are meant to provide representatives on the Committee from those municipalities across the Region, which are not parties to the agreement.

The four CAOs from St. Catharines, Niagara Falls, Welland, and the Region, in addition to the Director of the GO Implementation Team, as non-voting members of the Committee.

The Director of the GO Implementation Team and one CAO will act as a liaison between the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* and the Inter-Municipal Transit (IMT) Working Group.

The Committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair annually from its members and may be re-elected to serve for subsequent terms. The Committee will meet on a monthly basis, and otherwise at the call of the Chair. A meeting schedule will be determined at the beginning of each calendar year.

Agendas/Minutes will be circulated to all members of the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* and the IMT Working Group in advance of the meeting.

A quorum shall be the majority of the Committee members and all matters shall be decided by a majority vote of the voting members in attendance each of whom shall have one (1) vote, including the Chair. In the event of a tie vote, the vote shall be deemed to have been denied or defeated.

The Region of Niagara, through the GO Implementation Team, shall provide secretariat support to the Committee.

ROLES/RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE COMMITTEE

The *Linking Niagara Transit Committee*, when making decisions related to intermunicipal transit in Niagara, will be guided by the following set of principles:

- Customer focused: continuously improve, respect local service
- Local service levels will not be adversely impacted
- Fiscal responsibility and affordability with negative impacts on local transit revenues
- Integrated/seamless source throughout the region and connecting to GO and other modes of transportation
- Improving economic development opportunities across the region
- Fair: respect existing investments of communities, collective agreements and respect for taxpayers
- Unconventional solutions should be investigated and leading edge technologies explored.

The *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* shall be responsible for the following:

- Directing/Overseeing the work of the IMT Working Group
- Approval authority for any recommendations emanating from the IMT Working Group that deals exclusively with implementation of inter-municipal transit and

recommendations emanating from the Dillon report

- Coordinating marketing and branding of inter-municipal transit
- Government relations and advocacy to senior orders of government (provincial/federal) as it relates to inter-municipal transit
- Act as a unified voice for transit in Niagara

The *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* shall not have any jurisdiction over the local transit routes, funding, capital expenditures, or day-to-day operations. The decisions rest solely with the local Council of each individual municipality

Recommendations from the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* that require Regional Council approval will be presented to the Regional Public Works Committee and ultimately Regional Council for approval.

Recommendations from the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* that require approval by St. Catharines City Council will be referred to the St. Catharines Transit Commission and ultimately St. Catharines City Council for approval.

Recommendations from the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* that require approval by Niagara Falls City Council will be referred directly to Niagara Falls City Council.

Recommendations from the *Linking Niagara Transit Committee* that require approval by Welland City Council will be referred directly from the Linking Niagara Transit Committee to Welland City Council.