

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR 4800 SOUTH SERVICE ROAD BEAMSVILLE, ON LOR 1B1 Phone: 905-563-8205

> Fax: 905-563-6566 www.lincoln.ca

March 6, 2019

Niagara Region c/o Ron Tripp Acting CAO

Dear Region of Niagara; Re: Provincial Review of Regional Government

Following the recent conference call among the heads of Council of the lower tier municipalities including the Regional Municipality of Niagara it was agreed that the 12 Mayors and Chair, whom have signed below, request that the Region, on behalf of the 13 Municipalities undertake the procurement of and facilitation for finances to hire a Government Relations/Communications firm to advise the 13 municipalities on government relations, public polling and communications in regard to the provincial government review of regional government.

Further, this item be included in the Committee of the Whole Agenda for <u>Thursday</u>, <u>March</u> <u>7,2019</u> at 6:30pm at Regional Headquarters.

The CAO's will coordinate this effort. They will advise on appropriate companies to be considered. The CAO's will also act in the capacity of selecting said company and preparing sample questions in advance to be used for the public polling.

In their capacity as signing officers, the CAO's in their guidance to the Heads of Council will liaise with the successful bidder throughout the procurement process to ensure a successful conclusion.

Heads of Council will ensure that their own Councils and Regional Council members are kept apprised of the process.



OFFICE OF THE MAYOR 4800 SOUTH SERVICE ROAD BEAMSVILLE, ON LOR 1B1

> Phone: 905-563-8205 Fax: 905-563-6566 www.lincoln.ca

We are the Mayors and Regional Chair of the Region of Niagara and are in support of this request.

Mayor Wayne Redekop

Fort Erie

Mayor Jim Diodati

Niagara Falls

Mayor Bill Steele

Port Colborne

Mayor Kevin Gibson

Wainfleet

Mayor Jeff Jordan

Grimsby

Lord Mayor Betty Disero

Niagara-on-the-Lake

Mayor Walter Sendzik

St. Catharines

Mayor Frank Campion

Welland

Chair Jim Bradley

Niagara Region

Mayor Sandra Easton

Lincoln

Mayor Marvin Junkin

Pelham

Mayor Terry Ugulini

Yeung Ugulumi

Thorold

Mayor David Bylsma

West Lincoln