Authorization Reference: CSC 11-2024

Minute Item: 7.2

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA

Bill 2024-79

BY-LAW NO. <>

A BY-LAW TO APPOINT MUNICIPAL BY-LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS FOR THE PURPOSE OF ENFORCING VARIOUS REGIONAL BY-LAWS FOR THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA AND TO REPEAL BY-LAW 2023-34

WHEREAS subsection 55(1) of the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019, S.O. 2019, c.1, Sched, states that a municipality may appoint persons to enforce the by-laws of the municipality;

WHEREAS subsection 55(2) of the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019, S.O. 2019, c.1, Sched, states that municipal by-law enforcement officers are peace officers for the purpose of enforcing municipal by-laws; and

WHEREAS subsection 1(1)(d) of the Provincial Offences Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P33, states that a provincial offences officer means a by-law enforcement officer of any municipality or of any local board of any municipality, while in the discharge of his or her duties.

NOW THEREFORE the Council of The Regional Municipality of Niagara enacts as follows:

- 1. That the following persons be hereby appointed as Municipal By-law Enforcement Officers for the enforcement of various Regional By-laws with the area of jurisdiction:
 - Vanessa Blair, Licensing Enforcement Officer (New Appointment)
 - Jim Cross, Licensing Enforcement Officer (New Appointment)
 - William "Cody" Dwyer, Licensing Enforcement Officer (New Appointment)
 - Ken MacLean, Licensing Enforcement Officer (New Appointment)
 - Sean Elliott, Licensing Enforcement Officer (Previous Appointment)
 - Michael Langelaan, Licensing Enforcement Officer (Previous Appointment)
 - Pam Medvesky, Licensing Enforcement Officer (Previous Appointment)
 - Angelo Apfelbaum, Manager, Business Licensing (Previous Appointment)
- 2. That By-law No. 2023-34 be repealed.

Bill 2024-79 Authorization Reference: CSC 11-2024

Minute Item: 7.2

3. That this by-law shall come into force and effect on the day upon which it is passed.

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAG	3AR <i>A</i>
James Bradley, Regional Chair	
Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk	
James Bradley, Regional Chair Ann-Marie Norio, Regional Clerk	

Passed: <>