THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE OPEN SESSION

AAC 02-2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Committee Room 4
Niagara Region Headquarters
1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold ON

Committee: Councillor Ip (Committee Chair), G. Eden, I. Greaves, H.

Matthews, V. Sparling, C. Theal, J. Williams

Absent/Regrets: Regional Chair Bradley, B. Kon, D. Hernandez, L. Slade, D.

Whipple (Vice-Chair)

Staff: K. Lotimer, Legislative Coordinator, T. McClellan, Manager,

Building Services, Senior Services, N. Menard, Facilities Project Manager, S. Murphy, Policy and Sustainability Coordinator, C.

Mustard, Real Estate Coordinator, C. Perreault, Web Communications Coordinator, G. Szaszi, Capital Works Technician, Niagara Regional Housing, T. Ward, Corporate Health and Safety Advisor, B. Whitelaw, Policy and Planning Program Manager, Waste Management, K. Whittard, Clinical

Team Manager, Public Health

Others: M. Ferrusi, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, C.

Peddle, Resident, City of Welland

1. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Ip, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

2. DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

3. PRESENTATIONS

There were no presentations.

4. **DELEGATIONS**

There were no delegations.

5. <u>ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION</u>

There were no items for consideration.

6. CONSENT ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

6.1 AAC-C 3-2019

Concerns with Every-Other Week Garbage Collection

Moved by G. Eden Seconded by C. Theal

That Correspondence Item AAC-C 3-2019, dated March 12, 2019, respecting Concerns with Every-Other-Week Garbage Collection, **BE RECEIVED.**

Carried

6.2 AAC 01-2019

Accessibility Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes
January 22, 2019

Moved by C. Theal Seconded by H. Matthews

That AAC 01-2019, being the minutes of the Accessibility Advisory Committee meeting held on Tuesday, January 22, 2019, **BE RECEIVED**.

Carried

7. OTHER BUSINESS

7.1 Applications for Committee Membership

Kelly Lotimer, Legislative Coordinator, advised Committee members that the current term of citizen member appointments to Advisory Committees ends on May 31, 2019. For those interested in applying for appointment for the next term, applications will be posted on the Niagara Region's website on April 15, 2019. The deadline for submission is April 30, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

7.2 Regional Headquarters Parking Lot

Trevor Ward, Corporate Health and Safety Advisor, and Craig Mustard, Real Estate Coordinator, advised Committee members of concerns with the safety and accessibility of the parking lot at Regional Headquarters. They noted that Phase 3 of the International Plaza and Civic Square project includes improvements to the overall accessibility of the parking lot; however steps to improve accessibility and safety need to be taken sooner. Committee members were encouraged to provide feedback regarding accessibility and safety issues with the parking lot.

7.3 <u>Intersection with Truncated Domes</u>

Veronica Sparling, Committee member, enquired if a decision had been made regarding the replacement of the truncated domes at the intersection of Municipal Drive and Garrison Road in the Town of Fort Erie. Steve Murphy, Policy and Sustainability Coordinator, advised Committee members that there are two sets of acceptable standards that may be used when constructing an intersection including either Facility Accessibility Design Standards or Ministry of Transportation guidelines. He noted both are acceptable and that the Ministry of Transportation guidelines were followed for the construction of this intersection, therefore acceptable standards had been followed.

7.4 Feedback on New Accessible Buses

Committee Chair Ip, enquired if Committee members had feedback regarding the new accessible busses. Ian Greaves, Committee member, advised that he was impressed and that the new busses would be great for those riders in wheelchairs.

8. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 25, 2019, at 1:30 p.m. in Committee Room 4.

9. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:18 p.m.

Laura Ip Committee Chair	Kelly Lotimer Legislative Coordinator	
Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk		