THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MINUTES

BRCOTW 3-2025

Thursday, July 3, 2025 Council Chamber - In Person and Electronic Meeting Niagara Region Headquarters, Campbell West 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold, ON

Committee:	Badawey, Bradley (Regional Chair), Chiocchio*, Craitor*, Diodati*, Easton, Foster, Gale, Ganann*, Grant*, Heit, Insinna, Ip, Kaiser*, Morocco, Olson, Redekop (Committee Chair), Rigby, Seaborn, Secord*, Steele*, Ugulini, Villella, Whalen (Committee Vice-Chair)*, Witteveen*, Zalepa*
Absent/Regrets:	Bateman, Campion, Jordan, Junkin, Siscoe, Sorrento
Staff:	C. Banach, Chief Executive Officer, Niagara Regional Housing/Director, Housing Services, B. Brens, Associate Director, Budget Planning & Strategy, T. Cimino, Associate Director, Water Wastewater Engineering*, C. Courteau, Associate Director, Water Wastewater Integrated Systems*, R. Daw, Associate Director, Wastewater Operations, Maintenance and Lab Services, J. Dimanis, Manager, Housing Operations, T. Ellis, Commissioner, Corporate Services/Treasurer, R. Ferron, Chief/Director, Emergency Medical Services*, C. Habermebl, Director, Waste Management Services*, H. Koning, Commissioner, Community Services, A. Korchok, Chief of Staff, Governance*, K. Lotimer, Deputy Clerk, P. Maposa, Director, Asset Management, F. Meffe, Director, Human Resources, A M. Norio, Regional Clerk, T. Ricketts, Commissioner, Public Works, M. Sergi, Acting Chief Administrative Officer, J. Spratt, Legislative Coordinator, F. Tassone, Director, Transportation Services, N. Wolfe, Director, Construction, Energy & Facilities Management, D. Szymkow, Supervisor, Corporate Budgets*
Others Present:	C. Stout, General Manager, Niagara Transit Commission*
	 indicates participants who attended the meeting electronically, all others participated in person

1. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Redekop called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m.

2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

Councillor Ip read the Land Acknowledgement Statement.

3. DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

4. PRESENTATIONS

4.1 Budget Review Committee of the Whole Infrastructure Presentation

Nicole Wolfe, Director, Construction, Energy & Facilities Management, Pious Maposa, Director, Asset Management, Frank Tassone, Director, Transportation Services, and Jim Dimanis, Manager, Housing Operations, provided information respecting infrastructure as part of the 2026 budget process. Topics of the presentation included:

- Departmental Infrastructure
- Construction, Energy and Facilities Management
- Niagara Regional Housing
- Transportation Services
- Total Infrastructure Overview
- Asset Management
- Summary and Key Takeaways

Councillor Information Request(s):

Provide the percentage of transportation structures included in the current structures backlog that have load restrictions in place. Councillor Olson.

Provide information on provincial and federal funding provided to operate Regional facilities (i.e. EMS stations). Councillor Insinna.

Provide information respecting savings realized and funding secured resulting from the formation of the Asset Management Team. Councillor Heit.

Provide information respecting the number of full-time, part-time, casual and contracted employees for each department prior to the next scheduled Budget Review Committee of the Whole meeting. Councillor Redekop.

5. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

There were no items for consideration.

6. <u>CONSENT ITEMS FOR INFORMATION</u>

6.1 <u>BRC-C 2-2025</u> 2026 Budget Update - Niagara Transit

> Moved by Councillor Easton Seconded by Councillor Ip

That Memorandum BRC-C 2-2025, dated July 3, 2025, respecting 2026 Budget Update – Niagara Transit, **BE RECEIVED** for information.

Carried

7. OTHER BUSINESS

There were no items of other business.

8. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>

The next meeting will be held on Thursday, August 14, 2025, at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Regional Headquarters.

9. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:08 p.m.

Councillor Redekop Committee Chair Kelly Lotimer Deputy Regional Clerk

Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk